Victoria has made history at this year’s prestigious Australian Export Awards by being the first Australian state to have businesses win the award for Australian Exporter of the Year five years in a row.

The top award went to family-owned and operated skincare Ego Pharmaceuticals that manufactures more than 120 products and exports to more than 27 countries across the world including Europe, Asia and the Middle East. In addition to the win by Ego Pharmaceuticals, Victoria companies across agribusiness, manufacturing, creative industries, education and training, and medtech and bio each took home national export awards.

Left to right: Dr Jane Oppenheim (Ego Pharmaceuticals), Ben Chan (Envato), Tim Rudge (Yumbah Aquaculture), Prof Katya Johanson (Deakin University), Prof Alex Newman (Deakin University), Alan Oppenheim (Ego Pharmaceuticals), Will Day (Leica Biosystems)

The winning Victorian companies included abalone farmers Yumbah Aquaculture, digital marketplace Envato, education provider Deakin University and medical technology developer Leica Biosystems.

The Australian Export Awards recognise the achievements of exporters throughout the country and are renowned for their ability to raise the domestic and international status of those winning businesses.  Victorian winners of the Australian Export Awards started their journey as recipients of a Governor of Victoria Export Award that then automatically entered them into the running for a national award. Trade and investment is extremely valuable to Victoria with total goods and services exports worth more than $48.3 billion in 2016 – 17, rising from $44.8 billion in 2015 – 16.

Australian Exporter of the Year Award

Ego Pharmaceuticals (VIC)

55th Australian Export Awards category winners

Agribusiness Award
Yumbah Aquaculture (VIC)

Business Services Award
Linear Clinical Research (WA)

Creative Industries Award
Envato (VIC)

Digital Technologies Award
Opmantek Software (QLD)

e-Commerce Award
aussieBum (NSW)

Education and Training Award
Deakin University (VIC)

Environmental Solutions Award
SRA Information Technology (NT)

Health and Biotechnology Award
Leica Biosystems (VIC)

Manufacturing Award
Ego Pharmaceuticals (VIC)

Minerals, Energy and Related Services Award
Blast Movement Technologies (QLD)

Regional Exporter Award
Premium Fresh Tasmania (TAS)

Small Business Award
Tooletries (QLD)